May 13, 2019
Status
Medical Student
I am currently a pre-clinical medical student in Hong Kong. I have an uncle in the US and my family applied for family reunification immigration to the US. After 15 years of waiting, we have been notified by USCIS that we can obtain our green cards in the coming two years. To be honest, I did not make any plans about developing my medical career in the US before, but I am now seriously considering this possibility. However, if I decide to move to the US, I have a very low chance to return to Hong Kong as the medical council in Hong Kong does not recognise foreign medical trainings. In other words, this is a one-way road. Should I stay in Hong Kong or move to the US?

Jul 22, 2017
Status
Medical Student
I am currently a pre-clinical medical student in Hong Kong. I have an uncle in the US and my family applied for family reunification immigration to the US. After 15 years of waiting, we have been notified by USCIS that we can obtain our green cards in the coming two years. To be honest, I did not make any plans about developing my medical career in the US before, but I am now seriously considering this possibility. However, if I decide to move to the US, I have a very low chance to return to Hong Kong as the medical council in Hong Kong does not recognise foreign medical trainings. In other words, this is a one-way road. Should I stay in Hong Kong or move to the US?
Going off of what bonejorno said, this is going to be depend on whether you want to live in the US or HK.
That being said, as an asian-American male I honestly would recommend staying in HK. You can pm me if you want for reasons.

Reactions: Chris_Wong

Naruhodo

2+ Year Member
Sep 5, 2016