Should I just back away slowly?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Merlin Coryell

B.S. Psychology
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Reading through some of the threads, Ive started to get a little down about prospects of grad school. Heres my story:

I was a Sociology major, on a path in AFROTC towards a military career. 2 years into school, I changed my mind after taking several psych courses (then my minor). Anyway, I fell in love with the program, and really enjoyed the idea of being an instructor/practitioner someday.

I graduated in May, but due to a previously unremarkable college career where I depended on a career as a military officer, I escaped with just below a 2.9 GPA.

I currently work for Devereux treatment centers here in Houston, and have begun to network with various psychologists and social workers.

So I know that my GPA is far from stellar, but I have plans for some post-bac courses, and plan to get as much experience through work and hopefully some RA chances in the next year or two.

However, even with experience, some good letters, and a heck of a GRE, would I have a chance in heck at getting into a Clinical PhD program, or should I just slink away and not waste my time? Would a decent post-bac load or a masters help?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I think there is hope. there was this guy at one of my classes who had a 3.2 GPA, he applied for a clinical psych program. now, I remember another girl who had a 3.4 gpa. both of them applied at the same school..
the guy with the 3.2 gpa got accepted and she didnt...

A few years ago this girl needed an RA for her senior thesis project. I went to the interview..she asked for my GPA and as soon as she saw my 2.9 gpa..she turned around and said "my teacher told me not to accept anyone with a gpa below 3.0...sorry...."