Should i keep pushing foward?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by relentless11, Mar 30, 2001.

1. relentless11

relentless11 Going broke and loving it
    Moderator Emeritus

Pre-Medical
    Hello everyone, i'm sure you get a lot of these, but here goes.

I'm a junior at UC Davis, i am a transfer student. My problem is, my freshman and sophemore years in college were just a nightmare. I had to work a lot, and didn't know what i wanted to do with life. So my grades suffered. I somehow managed to get into UC Davis with a 2.8, and got in as a biochemistry major. Only recently after meeting a doctor at UCD Med Center, that i realized that i wanted to be a doctor. My first quarter at UC Davis was a 3.73, so a good start. I'm not sure what my GPA is for the winter quarter since they have not posted them yet. I know i have an uphill battle. But here's what i have now to throw at med school.

I did and will do more clinical internships. Great program here. I am shadowing doctor at UCDMC, as well as doing research at the medical school. I'm not sure if this helps but i also was the head coach for a highschool water polo, and swim team. So far i will be able to get a letter of recommendation from both the doctors.

I was planning to apply next year in june, but my cum GPA doesn't really have any margin for error. I fear if i got mauled this last quarter(don't think i did), it'll hurt my GPA very seriously. I have also looked into possibly getting a masters after graduating and hten applying again.

I will be taking the MCAT this april since i have already finished the subject classes for it. So pretty much my question is, anyone have any advice for a demoralized undergrad(no doubt a common thing).

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Nanon

Nanon An urban myth.