Mar 20, 2010
Status
Pharmacist
I am currently a senior in undergrad and I will graduate this May. I will hopefully [ :xf:] be attending the Pharmacy School of the same university that I currently attend. I have lived at home all four years of undergrad, and it's only a 20 minute drive to campus, 30 mins. with morning traffic. I just live with my mom..no other relatives. I would like to finally break free and be on my own, but I do have a concern that I won't be able to afford it and that I will just be acquiring unnecessary debt. Right now, I do pay for my own food, gas, car repairs, but I don't contribute to the real bills like rent, utilities, etc. I already have loans from undergrad and I will be getting even more from my private university's PharmD program. Do you recommend living with parents or venturing out while in Pharmacy School? Is it best to see how my P1 year goes, then make changes as necessary?

Last edited:

Pancakesteve

5+ Year Member
Jan 15, 2010
Status
Pharmacy Student
I'm assuming you're 21-23 if you're in your senior year of undergrad? While the desire to move out and explore may be strong, it's a wiser idea to stay at home. At least for another year. Not having to take out extra loans to pay for housing will be very beneficial to you. And if you've had enough of living at home after a year or two in Pharmacy school, you can move out. A nice compromise.

Mar 20, 2010
Status
Pharmacist
I'm assuming you're 21-23 if you're in your senior year of undergrad? While the desire to move out and explore may be strong, it's a wiser idea to stay at home. At least for another year. Not having to take out extra loans to pay for housing will be very beneficial to you. And if you've had enough of living at home after a year or two in Pharmacy school, you can move out. A nice compromise.