Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Should I Make Other Plans

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by coca-cola, Dec 22, 2005.

1. coca-cola

coca-cola Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

just have a simple question I am a Freshman and Iam probably thinking to far ahead but no harm in just wondering.

I took 14 hours first semester Bio,chem,wrtg, and intermediate algebra, which doesnt count so it ended up being 11 hours I got a "C" in bio, a "C" in chem, and a "B" in wrtg that ended up being a 2.273.

So with this said I was wondering if I get my "act" together for the remaining years. Do I still have a chance of being a good candidate for med school?

2. DrBowtie

DrBowtie Final Countdown
    Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
  3. coca-cola

coca-cola Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

thanks but this guy has "D's" though is it still the same for me

4. cfdavid

cfdavid Membership Revoked
    Removed 7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    consider retaking those courses. if you're "traditional" age, you have plenty of time. but, it's SO competitive right now (and will likely be when you apply) that you just don't need that hanging over you.

don't get me wrong. i personally don't believe that should make you or break you, but it could be reality. you just don't need to give ANY ammunition to a school that is faced with a 2500 student surplus of qualified applicants. that seems to be reality today.

don't throw in the towel based on those grades though. that would be way unnecessary.

5. sscooterguy

sscooterguy Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]