Should I postpone or push through?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChemCrazy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Sorry for the length, I just want to give a full picture.
I need some advice. I've been studying for about two weeks for the MCAT and plan to take it January 19. That means I have about 77 days left.

Last night after a full day of studying (didn't get a chance to eat) I came home to my roommate's mess and for some reason snapped. I started crying and hyperventilating uncontrollably. This mental break hasn't happened in years. I don't know if it is because I'm constantly reminded by friends/family that I should have taken the exam at least a year ago or that time is speeding by, books have yet to arrive, and it takes me 8 hours to read a chapter so content review will take up 9 of my remaining 11 weeks... and that's if I don't take days off for the December holidays.

I graduated in May, so it's been about 3 years since most of these classes and I get bogged down in the details (even though I have yet to consolidate them anyway).

I've always been the kind who gets things done well, but closer to the deadline, so I gave myself exactly 3 months to study and I feel as though that won't be quite enough. However, I really want to move past this obstacle asap, or at least get to the phase 2, as I feel as though I'm back in college, but without the support system, resources, or distractions that make it enjoyable.