should I pursue a fellowship or just keep on being a hospitalist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lighteningyang

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an international medical graduate. I finished internal medicine training 3 years ago in a community hospital on a J visa. I had been planning to do pulmonary and critical care since the beginning of the residency. I liked the comprehensiveness of inpatient general internal medicine and I felt critical care was a fortified version of inpatient medicine.

I did not do research during residency. I did several posters; I did two pulmonary consults elective rotations and two MICU electives at three different tertiary centers in east Mass. I planned to do chief resident but eventually gave up because of visa issues. It has been harder and harder to get exchange scholar visa-related documents from my home country. Back then, my partner was preparing for a residency application, so I decided to do a hospitalist job as a transition, finish J1 waiver and get a green card. Maybe doing research and even an MPH degree.

I have been working as an academic hospitalist for 3.5 years. I did medical student didactic teaching, attended a critical care ultrasound course, became a member of the resident selection committee interviewing incoming residents. I also got into a decent MPH-epidemiology program this year and started learning data analysis, R programming and epidemiologic methods. As for the green card goes, because I am from a country where there is a significant backlog of green card applicants, I still have not got it, but it looks promising so far and I might be able to get it in a couple of years.