Should I quit my job as a pharm tech to work as a scribe if I am pre-med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MD_Odyssey

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Currently, I work as a pharm tech. But I am thinking it would be more advantageous in helping to get into medical school if I attempt to get a job as a scribe. Does having a pharm tech cert have any positive on a med school app? Thoughts/advice? Also, i am pretty sure I will have to take a wage decrease if I were to try and work as a scribe but if it really helps my app then I am all for it. Any other clinical experience options anyone can add would be nice too.

Please be courteous in your responses! I don't anyone who is a doctor and I don't have support for my goal to become a doctor. So I am alone in this. Thanks. :)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
You don't have to be a scribe, especially if you're going to make less. Not worth it (in my premed opinion). I work full-time in a non-medical setting and have gained clinical experience solely by volunteering. Can you dedicate some time after work or on the weekends to volunteer?

Reactions: 2 users
You don't have to be a scribe, especially if you're going to make less. Not worth it (in my premed opinion). I work full-time in a non-medical setting and have gained clinical experience solely by volunteering. Can you dedicate some time after work or on the weekends to volunteer?

Yeah I can and I will do that! I see so many who talk about working as scribes I thought it should be something to look into. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad :)
Yeah I can and I will do that! I see so many who talk about working as scribes I thought it should be something to look into. Thanks!