Should I re-apply asap if so where

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1038397

Hi, I am totally new to this website, but I was just looking for some honest feedback on mistakes that I made and ways to improve in the future for applying again. To begin, I'm a black male from a low economic background who grew up in Ohio with a relatively unique life story. I graduated from Johns Hopkins in 2018 with a 3.48 cGPA and a 3.39 sGPA. My major was Molecular and Cell Biology. I initially wanted to be an MD/Phd, and I've had a lot of research experience in undergrad. Since graduating, I've been working for two years at a top academic research institute in Cambridge, MA studying cancer. I ended up getting a 515 on my MCAT but when it came time to fill out my primary application, I just didn't see myself wanting to do a PhD after working in research full time, so I applied as a regular MD, but all of most of my LORs and my committee letters were in the context of MSTP because I had done them a while ago.

Moreover, while I submitted my primary pretty early, I had a difficult time submitting my secondaries early. I work 10-14 hours a day 6-7 days a week, so it was really tough for me to fill everything out promptly. In the end, I submitted 4-5 secondaries in August and the other 10-12 between September and early November. I am currently on the waitlist at UCSF, and I interviewed at Emory in February, but given that I haven't been accepted or rejected at Emory so I'm assuming that I'll be on the waitlist at Emory as well. I applied to 16 schools all md.

Moving forward, I was thinking about switching over to a job in biotech and applying again to med school if i don't get into UCSF or Emory. Is switching into a biotech/pharma job over academia a bad idea? I wouldn't want to signal to med schools I am not interested in med school as much.

Some other things in my application