Should I retake MCAT? 9|9|8 26

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LanJevinson

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My stats:
cGPA: 3.21, sGPA: 3.31, MCAT: 26.
My last 3 semesters I averaged a 3.6 GPA.
Also, I'm a NJ resident and will be graduating from Rutgers NB this December.

Since my GPA is a bit lower than average, I was shooting for a 30 MCAT. Practice tests averaged 29 and I ended up with a 26 when I took it on 7/25/14.

As for ECs, I have 100+ hours volunteering in an emergency room and with American Red Cross. Also, I have strong LORs, including one from the DO I shadowed.

I've already filled out 7 secondary applications. I applied to 6 more schools but they were waiting for my MCAT scores before having me complete a secondary. I assume I'll recieve secondaries from all 6 since I didn't score below an 8 in any category?

Here's my school lists...
Ones I've already submitted secondaries for:
ATSU-SOMA, NSU-COM, WVU-SOM, PCOM, ROWAN-SOM, KYCOM, NYIT-COM

Ones waiting for MCAT:
VCOM-SC, LUCOM, LECOM-E, LECOM-B, TOURO-NY, TOURO-CA

I would like to schedule a retake in late October/early November so I have 2-3 months to prepare. Is it in my best interest to schedule a retake? If so, when is the best time to retake? Also, will the schools be able to see my new score immediately or do I have to inform them individually that I retook it?

I'm pretty distraught over this and would appreciate any all advice (given you aren't being rude/demeaning). Thanks in advance!!

Members don't see this ad.

Unless you are eyeing for AZCOM, CCOM, or Touro, (All seeking high MCAT scores) then your scores are fine. I would not suggest a retake because you have a balanced score.

Last edited:
Reactions: 2 users
My stats:

Since my GPA is a bit lower than average, I was shooting for a 30 MCAT. Practice tests averaged 29 and I ended up with a 26 when I took it on 7/25/14.