Quantcast

Medical Should I retake of Biochemistry OR Anatomy/Physiology I and II Before Applying?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
    Reaction score
    Hello! Thank you all for your time in assisting me. I apologize for the length I wanted to provide context into why my question is important (to me).

I am currently 6 months away from starting my medical school applications and I need some course advice!
    I graduated from UC Berkeley with a 2.7 overall GPA in a biological major and have since retaken the Organic Chemistry series and newly taken Microbiology all with 4.0's while working full time as a clinical research coordinator in oncology.

Most recently I started a Biotechnology post-bacc certificate program for 1 year where I 4.0ed my first quarter (courses included Molecular biology, Molecular biology lab, Bioinformatics, and a Media/Solutions course on creating solutions required in all biotech labs). For this current quarter I am enrolled in 4 more courses for the biotech program and per the head of the department the workload is about 80% of what it was this recent quarter.

In undergrad I took both Biochemistry (received a B-) as well as Anatomy w/lab (B+/A-) and Physiology (C- in the lecture and an A- in the lab). I am currently trying to decide whether it would be a good idea to retake the Biochemistry series OR take an Anatomy/Physiology course (with the intent of getting a 4.0 in either of these). Unfortunately my schedule (starting to volunteer at two different locations - a homeless shelter and an HIV/AIDs hospice center) does not permit me to take BOTH although I know that ultimately this would be ideal.