kevster2001

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Dec 18, 2004
Status
Medical Student
I'm planning on talking to the Dean of the medical school but I wanted to see what you guys would do.

I'm currently a Duke undergrad with decent grades and MCAT and good extracurriculars (3.7~ 3.4~ Science) with a 37S. (11V, 13P, 13B). I'm a Washington State resident and I really want to go to UWSOM. Do I have a decent enough shot that I'm not throwing away valuable in preparing apps for other schools?

LadyWolverine

10+ Year Member
Aug 17, 2004
Hiding in your closet
Status
Attending Physician
I don't think UDub has an EDP. I worked there for 2 years and applied in 2004. I don't remember them having an EDP at the time.

Out of curiosity, why do you want to go there? The in-state tuition is definitely a plus, but the med students that I met when I interviewed seemed miserable. One student actually advised me not to go to UW, after I had expressed an interest in public health. Certainly not a good way to sell your school, if you ask me. Also, the admissions staff seemed rather arrogant...one of the staff members commented how they had finally "put together a presentation to sell UW to interviewees", but said so jokingly, as if there was no reason to do it in the first place. I thought this was funny, seeing as how other "top schools" really and truly try to pitch their school to you on interview day. It made UW come off as arrogant. I didn't like that.

That being said, there are parts of the UW package that are very desirable. The interview day just left a bad taste in my mouth...that's all. But I'm curious to know if they do have an EDP!

PS...you will automatically be granted an interview if you have above a 3.5 and some # on your MCAT (maybe a 30?) and are in-state. You will certainly get an interview, even if they don't have an EDP. Unless they did away with this system.

OP
kevster2001

kevster2001

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Dec 18, 2004
Status
Medical Student