Should I stay or should I go?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neolith77

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

This is my first post and I have a burning question. I would like your opinions regarding my current conundrum. I am posting this in the residency forum because I assume you guys/girls have the most experience so far, and probably have a good bead on the future of American medicine. Let me explain...

I worked as an exercise physiologist at the Cleveland Clinic for 4 years. During that time I developed a definite interest in medicine. Upon my first application I did not get in anywhere. Side note: I had very ****ty undergrad grades due to alot of partying, but during my M.S. program I was in the top of my class both years and got the coveted internship at the Clinic. Anyway, upon applying the second time (after retaking the MCAT and a bunch of basic science) I actually got into my first choice (via alternate list). Now, in the interim I got married and (thinking that med. school was a no go) got a job in the cardiac rhythm device industry as a rep, with the top company, and the pay is phenomenal. We bought a house.

To make a long story short, I found out about my acceptance after the job/house/wife transpired. My wife, being very supportive (God bless her) and I have decided to sell the house and go. The house has not sold yet, but most likely will. However, this time has caused me to think about my decision. My dad is a ped. card. and is very pessimistic about the future of medicine and the available compensation that someone with big loans (will be me) will receive for all of the effort. So pessimistic as to tell me to stay put, and that if I do this it will be a huge mistake.

Therefore, opinions please

Members don't see this ad.