Should I still APPLY this year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

horns2001

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone- I want to apply to dental schools now, but i have an uneasy feeling. See I am almost done with my application, it will take another week or so to finish it. However I have yet to take the DAT, and the rate i'm studying for it, I won't be ready to take it until late September at the earliest(I have only studied QR,RC,and OC so far, but not BIO,gen chem, and perceptual yet). I think that will be too late won't it? I have a tough summer school class i'm taking now and that is what is slowing my studying for the DAT down. My grades aren't too impressive. I have a ~2.9 overall and ~2.9 science w/a slight downward trend from communtiy college to UCLA. I think that if I dont' apply at the earliest time and have my DAT scores in early as well, that I don't have a chance to get in to any schools that I am applying to -NYU,Boston,Tufts,Loma Linda. Should I just apply now and hopefully take the DAT late September/Early October and then send those scores in right away(just go for it)?Or should I just not rush and instead just apply next year and not feel so rushed to study and take the DAT and also take a few extra classes to bring my GPA up?What should I do?

Members don't see this ad.

horns,