Should I take a year off of school to go to Paramedic School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hossaq

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a junior at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute majoring in Chemical engineering. My GPA is 3.4 and SGPA is 3.6. I had a bad freshman year 1st semester, other than that my GPA is good. And I work on average 40 hours a week while taking full course load to support myself.

I have been an EMT-B for about 7 months now, working in a commercial agency and volunteerimg with 2 other agencies. I love the job and the patient contact that I am getting. My question is, is it worth my time to take a year off school and become a paramedic and then work in a commercial agency in my senior year? Will this in anyway give me even a slight edge in getting into medical school?

Just to clarify, I didn't become an EMT or want to go to Paramedic school just to boost my CV for medical school. I absolutely love the job and would love to expand my knowledge and skills. If that gives me an edge in medical school application, it's just an added benefit.

Thank you for reading this really long post and thanks in advance for your help and time!

Members don't see this ad.

If you take one year and quantify the things you can potentially do in terms of usefulness, taking one year off to become a paramedic is not worth it. This is because in one year you can do a lot of other stuff that is looked upon far more favorably than the upgrade from an EMT -> medic. Focus on your studies and other aspects of your application as they are far more valuable.

Reactions: 4 users
I am currently a junior at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute majoring in Chemical engineering. My GPA is 3.4 and SGPA is 3.6. I had a bad freshman year 1st semester, other than that my GPA is good. And I work on average 40 hours a week while taking full course load to support myself.