Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Should I take a year off?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by Dr JPH, Mar 6, 2000.

1. Dr JPH

Dr JPH Banned
    Banned

Resident [Any Field]
    I am a 19 year old sophomore in college. I am planning on going to Osteopathic Medical School someday in the future, and I would very much like to do so right out of college. The problem is, everything I read tells me that Osteopathic Schools look for people with "life experience" and those types of things. I will be 21 when I graduate college, and still only 21 when I begin classes. Do you need age to have had "life experience"? I have worked in EMS, Hospice, and as a CNA for over two years. In fact, I was told the same thing when I was trying to get a part-timejob as an EMT...then said that although I was top of my EMT class, I didn't have enough "life experience" as some of their other applicants.
    Now, the real question. I will be graduating with a BS in Biology. Would it be to my benefit to take a year off form classes and do some research work? Would it be beneficial to stay here at school and do research as a Grad student? The thought of doing research is sounds good, but so does the opportunity to earn some money and pay off some debts before I start Medical School.
    Any comments, advice, or real-life examples would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

------------------
    Josh Hazelton
    [email protected]
    University of the Sciences in Philadelphia
    "D.O. Wannabe"

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. fmfcorpsman

fmfcorpsman Member

APPLY!!