Medical Should I take BS/MD or go regular undergrad?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MusicDOc124

Staff member
Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I am a Texas resident who was accepted to a BS/MD program at SUNY Upstate, and am waiting on results from Texas Tech Lubbock, FAU, and Texas A&M. On the other hand, I was accepted to the University of Florida undergrad with a full ride and honors. I'm at a crossroads and need to decide whether I should move to New York and take the program at Upstate, move to Florida and take the acceptance to UF (but I will still have my Texas residency), or take the Texas A&M or TTech program.

To put things into further context, I already have two years worth of dual enrollment credits completed from a four year accredited institution via an early college program, so I have already completed all of my pre med reqs including Ochem 2, stats, physics, etc. I have a 4.0 BCPM, and moving forward in college, I assume that I will have less trouble in maintaining my GPA since I have already gotten through many of the weedout science courses.

Additionally, I am interested in pursuing emergency medicine, as I am a certified EMT and have had a lot of fun doing my job in the ER, but this interest may be subject to change so I am keeping all of my options open.

Now I will go in depth into my two top choice BS/MD programs and what they have to offer:

SUNY Upstate Accelerated Scholars 4+4 program

I have to study at SUNY Polytechnic, an undergraduate feeder for the medical school I am going to.

Polytechnic is not very well reputed, but they are willing to accept all of my transfer credits and allow me to graduate in two years. However, Upstate will only allow me to matriculate ONE year early, so I have a gap year where I am free to work and seek employment to hopefully establish NY residency and in turn receive in-state tuition. Polytechnic will cost me probably $20,000 a year for two years.