silverlion

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jul 31, 2008
New York, NY
Status
Pre-Medical
So I just got my MCAT score and I have a 34Q (12 PS, 11 Verbal, 11 BS). I had taken it last year and had a 28S( 7PS, 9 Verbal and 12 BS) but am happy with what I have now and am applying to the MD PhD programs at quite a few schools... I read the other thread that talks about the schools that absolutely require a GRE score for some of their streams and was wondering if it would be a good idea to take the GRE and report a score to the schools that dont require it as well......

I've been working at the NIH as a postbacc for the past one year and will be here for another year. I have research experience from other places as well...My extracurriculars look ok and I have some physician shadowing experience...I'm also applying for a red cross volunteer opportunity at the Naval medical Center and will start there in about a month from now... If the GRE thing looks good I'll submit it to the schools but if it doesnt turn out to be great then I'll just forget about it...

I was just looking for opinions on whether it would actually be advantageous...If the grad schools look at a good score would that give the impression that I am more serious about the PhD aspect of the program and therefore would be a good candidate? Are there any drawbacks here that I'm missing?

Neuronix

Total nerd
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Mar 14, 2002
the beach
Status
Attending Physician
was wondering if it would be a good idea to take the GRE and report a score to the schools that dont require it as well......