Should I take the MCAT during the spring or summer of my application year if I will be taking biochemistry and organic chemistry II that same spring?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted937918

I am currently an incoming undergraduate junior and will be applying during the summer of 2020 to enter medical school in 2021. I am taking Physics 2 and Organic Chemistry 1 during the Fall 2019 Semester and Organic Chemistry 2 and Biochemistry during the Spring 2020 semester. I've heard that I should take the MCAT no later than April so that I can get my scores back as early as possible. My only concern is that I will not be completely finished with those Spring 2020 classes before I take the MCAT. I'm having a hard time between waiting until May or even June to take the MCAT. I would like to get my score as early as possible, but I would also like to only take the test when I am actually prepared.

Outside of my two sciences each semester of my junior year, I am taking a VERY easy courseload. This will hopefully allow me time to study for the MCAT over two semesters. I realize that this isn't the normal approach to studying for the MCAT, but I'm hoping that the extra time will allow me to do better. If I'm taking the MCAT in April, I will try to teach myself and get ahead in Organic Chemistry II and Biochemistry.

When do you recommend I take the test? I don't know if it is realistic to expect to do well if I take the test before being totally done with all of the recommended classes. It would also be helpful if someone gave me a very short summary of what to expect as a timeline of next summer. I've read a lot of resources online, but there are so much information and different advice that I'm having a difficult time condensing it all.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator: