Should I take the W...?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DopamineNYC

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So far, I only have one W (from my first semester in undergrad) in an intro econ class which I ended up retaking (and received an A). Im currently in my last semester and I've been overloaded with research, volunteering, etc and I am not sure about this upper level bio elective. Realistically, I think I am looking at a B+ or A- (at the best case scenario). I just want to take the W and save myself some time and not think about the grade etc... If I take the W, how bad would it look?

Members don't see this ad.

Let me get this straight - your options are either a W or at worst a B+? Why do you think a W will look better than a B+?

If I put in a lot more effort I think a B+ is do-able, but being that the grade is just the avg of three tests, it can also go lower than the B+. I'm not saying that a B+ is the worst case scenario.

Members don't see this ad :)
So far, I only have one W (from my first semester in undergrad) in an intro econ class which I ended up retaking (and received an A). Im currently in my last semester and I've been overloaded with research, volunteering, etc and I am not sure about this upper level bio elective. Realistically, I think I am looking at a B+ or A- (at the best case scenario). I just want to take the W and save myself some time and not think about the grade etc... If I take the W, how bad would it look?
I personally wouldn't take a W if you're going to get above a C in a class. Take the hit that you've been very busy but only you can make this decision. Also if you take a W, do you have to stay and complete another elective for your required hours? If you already meet all the requirements to graduate then I'd say just do your best

Taking a W in this case would be more problematic to explain than a B- or a C.