1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Should I tell medical schools about this?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by flodhi1, Aug 17, 2011.

1. flodhi1

Removed 2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I took my MCAT in May and got done with my entire application in the first week of July. I had submitted most of my secondaries in Late July and Early August. My GPA is pretty low <3.3 and my MCAT score is average 29 N
    I am a non traditional student so I'm currently done with school. However, a lot of medical schools asked me on the secondary what I was going to do in between the year. I told them I was going to continue volunteering at the clinic and tutoring. However, recently I decided to get enrolled in a post bacc program (2 weeks ago). I am going to pursue a Masters in Physiology in between the one year gap.
    SHOULD I TELL MEDICAL SCHOOLS ABOUT THIS? as in should I update them that I enrolled into a post bacc program. Now this could be taken in two ways. One way is that they could be happy and think that okay this guy is continuing his education and staying academically active. However, they could also take it as you know what let this guy finish the masters program. let's see what his grades are since he already has a low GPA and we will have him reapply next year. I've already received 4 rejections, 1 interview and 2 possible interviews (no guarantee though) out of the 20 secondaries I have already completed.
    What should I do!?
    EDIT:- My main concern is that will this status update actually make a difference this cycle as in you know push me from possible interviews to an actual interview or is that unlikely? :confused:

#1 flodhi1, Aug 17, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2011
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. tman5890