Should I Transfer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Odd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a junior, and I think I made have made a huge mistake of transferring from Egypt into Fairleigh Dickinson University in New Jersey. When I talked to my medical advisor and my biology professor (2 different people), I got the feeling they were both telling me that through FDU, Carrebean medical schools are the only way.

Not to mention, who would take a student from a not so well known university if they have schools such as Rutgers, NJIT, Montclair and Princeton?

I have been working quite hard (so far im a straight A student) and don't want ANYTHING to diminish my chances of being a worthy applicant. I think if I can finish my undergraduate studies with a 3.7+ and a 30+ MCAT score, I deserve something.

So, should I transfer to a more reputable university?

Members don't see this ad.

To be honest I'd never heard of this school, but I'm not from the East Coast so that's probably why. I don't think you have to transfer to another university to get accepted to med school, but by all means transfer if you feel like you aren't getting a good education. Students from all sorts of universities get into medical school, and those students from Princeton that you talk about might not have the GPA or MCAT scores that you do.

I can't really tell you whether or not you should or should not transfer schools. If you maintain a great GPA, get a good MCAT score, and have good ECs, there's no reason why the name of your undergrad institution should hold you back everywhere. I would only transfer if you feel as though you would be happier at a different school.

Nobody's heard of my school except for the medical school in the same state. Even one state over people are like, "huh?" I swear it's accredited...