Quantcast

Should I worry about my first semester (freshman year) of college?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eudaimonia19

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hey guys! I am new to writing on these forums but I have become an interested reader for a while. I appreciate your insight into people's situations, and I am hoping to receive insights for my situations as well. I want to start off with my first semester of college. I got cocky and failed 2 courses, Chemistry 1 and Calculus 1. However, I retook them and received a B+ (Chem) and A (Calc). My major is biology. Since then I have increased my overall GPA to a 3.742. I just finished my junior year. Should I be worried about my first semester grades? I have been shadowing my mom who is a dentist for the past 3 months. I am taking my DATs in August. Am I late? Thank you guys!

Do I have a chance at these schools with my GPA? These are the schools that I look forward to applying to:
1. New York University
2. UMDNJ
3. Columbia University
4. Temple University
5. Tufts University
6. Stony Brook
7. Boston University

UCSFx2017

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
You're not out of the game. You're still competitive for the moment. August is almost pushing it. Expect a two-week delay for AADSAS to post your scores. Then expect at least an additional week delay for them to change your status from "Incomplete" to "Complete/Under-Review". From then on, it varies with how long it takes schools to review your application and decide whether or not to invite you.

Last edited:

dans105

Reaction score
Congrats on raising your GPA so much, I know how hard that can be! I failed two courses freshman year, then finished with a 3.6 GPA. I also submitted in August because of a LOR writer that took his time (I'm still very appreciative, of course). I still got accepted to two schools. You've got nothing to worry about.

isittoolate

7+ Year Member