dpark74

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Aug 29, 2002
Visit site
Status (Visible)
I'm new at SDN and would like to see if anyone in this crazy world has experienced or known a situation like mine. If not, at least it's a story that may give someone hope.

I graduated with a 2.97 from U of WI in chemistry. I had a GPA 3.5 before my junior year. After that year, it dwindled to a 2.8 and somewhat rebounded to my final GPA after my senior year (3.9 sci that year). Obviously not a good cum GPA, so I went to grad school and obtained an MS with a 3.92 in chem and pursued research. (5 yrs total with a publication and two national posters)

I took a practice MCAT a couple years ago and the result was a dismal 21. No surpise since I had last stepped into a physics or bio course over 7 years ago. I studied my ARS off for months while working full time. I also took Kaplan (a great course if you put the effort into it) and received a 34 for the April 2002 exam.

My chances are definitely hurt by my undergrad GPA and it has been the focal point in my rejection letters so far(Mayo and Stanford). However, I was able to pass screens from UIC and Loyola (prob. because I am an IL resident).

I would appreciate any feedback (positive or negative) about my situation.

Good luck to all of you this year.

:)

Centrum

SMILEY KING
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 12, 2002
TX
Status (Visible)
Another
! Hello!

ocean11

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jun 23, 2002
Visit site
Status (Visible)
The fact that you did grad school is an advantage in my opinion. I know that in Canada (were I'm from) they look favorably on students with a grad degree.... at U of Toronto you need a minimum of a 3.6 for them to look at you (realistically 3.7) BUT if you have a masters you just need at 3.0 and you're guaranteed an interview.... I know MANY people who got in this route.