1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Sinus infection following 3rd molar extraction?

Discussion in 'Dental' started by jdpharmd?, May 6, 2004.

1. jdpharmd?

jdpharmd? Turning lead into gold
    7+ Year Member

I had my #1 and #16 extracted a few weeks ago. I'm not a dental expert, but I think it would be called a soft tissue impaction (my bill says "type I" impaction if that's a standard term). The oral surgeon said that everything should go smoothly and as far as I know, it did.

I was on amoxicillin 500mg QID for 7 days post-extraction with no problems. That was 3 weeks ago. For the last 6 days or so, my face/teeth have been pretty sore, particularly on the top ("cheekbone", - bilaterally), although it's not very well-defined pain. I've also noticed EITHER taste disturbances (almost salty) OR some slight blood that I really do taste. I don't know which one.

I stopped by my DDS's office on Weds pm, but he was at lunch. I haven't gotten a chance to go back, but I'm aiming for tomorrow, after my test. The pain seems much less in the AM, but right now it's a little hard to concentrate (I'm supposed to be studying for micro, how ironic).

Anyway, my question is: "What is the likelihood that my pain is caused by a maxillary sinus infection, resulting from post-extraction complications?" I've heard of 3rd molars penetrating the sinus, but I have no idea how common it really is. I have never had a diagnosed sinus infection, and these antibiotics were the first I've been on in 15 years. Would the possibility of sinus involvement be evident on a panorex? I'll be sure to let you know the outcome. Thanks! :thumbup:

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. UBTom

UBTom Class '04 official geezer
    10+ Year Member

Hi,