Small Undergrad College, BIG DREAMS!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Coldsweat_06

MD2B
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is a question that has been on my mind for quite a few days, so I thought I'd ask this great body of pre-meds my question. Does someone from a small liberal arts college really have that great of a chance to enter into a top 10 Medical School? Here are my stats, tell me honestly if it's possible.

I am a sophomore Bio/Pre-Med major at a small liberal arts college. I maintain a 3.6-3.7 GPA, having taken such courses as Organic Chem. 1 & 2, Biology, Physics, and Gen. Chem. I am highly involved in EC's such as VP of my fraternity, Pres. and Charter Member- National Residence Hall Honorary, Pres. and Charter Member- 100 Black Men, Member of National Society for Collegiate Scholars, Member of AMSA, Member of Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society, Member of Greek Council, and the list goes on... I am also an avid volunteer- Big Brothers/Big Sisters, ER, Mobile Healthcare Unit. I work as a lab assistant in the Microbiology, Genetics, and Human A & P laboratories. I have been shadowing since my junior year of high school in the ER and with an Orthopaedic Surgeon. I am presently working on my undergraduate research. Lastly, this summer I will be attending a Summer Program at Yale School of Medicine. Before applying I hope to have completed a Summer Research Program and participated in a Biological Study Abroad Program in Quito, Ecuador. With all of this said and adequate MCAT scores, would I be considered competitive at my top choice medical school, Johns Hopkins, coming from a small liberal arts college? I'm sure people say that you can apply from any undergraduate insitution but in reading the profiles on mdapplicants.com, most of the accepted applicants to such schools as Hopkins, Vanderbilt, Yale, etc. were from the same caliber undergraduate