• Livestream AMA: Join SDN as we welcome Dr. John Ligon, a Pediatric Oncologist with the National Cancer Institute on May 11th at 8:00 PM Eastern. Register now!

RGTS

7+ Year Member
Aug 22, 2012
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
I am planning on and have spoken to EVMS' medical masters, who say I'm competitive but with my MCAT being decent I am wondering what my shot at DO school is this cycle and if it's worth exploring. My primary concern is not getting in and then being a reapplicant the following year. Thank you for your time!
  • cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS
    • 3.04 cGPA, 2.89 (MD)/3.03 (DO) sGPA
  • MCAT score(s) and breakdown
    • 511, 127/127/127/130
  • Ethnicity and/or race
    • White male, currently live in Virginia and have for the past 3 years,but I'm a FL resident, switching to VA soon especially if I get out of the Army in the near future.
  • Undergraduate institution or category
    • Small/medium state school in Maryland, has a great rapport with PCOM
    • Nontrad, graduated in 2013
  • Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer)
    • Conservatively, 6000 hours scribing between 2011 and 2015. A little over 4 years at ~30 hr/wk
  • Research experience and productivity
    • Primarily ecology research, two conference papers, 2nd/4th author respectively
    • One additional poster
    • Summer internship for research, altogether ~500 hours between undergrad/internship
  • Shadowing experience and specialties represented
    • Retinologist, 20 hours
    • For the SMP I am applying to, an advisor suggested getting more recent clinical experience but with COVID it's basically impossible for the foreseeable future
  • Non-clinical volunteering
    • 40 hours coordinating a bone marrow registration drive while deployed to the Middle East via Salute to Life.