so confused about pcat after reading this forum, help please

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

steveysmith54

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a california resident and not sure if I want to devote my entire summer studying for it. I could be working as a pharm tech and/or taking classes. I would also hate feeling of dissapointment and wasted time...

Here is what confuses me, I've been reading so many opinions about what and so much of iit SOOOOO contradicting. I don't know who to believe....

Some say it's easier than Kaplan practice exams, some say it's harder. Some say it's on par with Cliff notes pcat? Is that true.

Some say it can not be studied for. IS that true...

Please someone tell what's the deal with this exam. Should i bother?

Members don't see this ad.

First of all I do not think any California school requires the PCAT, so if you want to go to a Cali school don't bother. If you are going to take it, it can be studied for you just need to budget your time correctly. I can't say if it is equal to/harder/easier than any of the practice books, it really is just a matter of you studying and having picked up what you could in your classes.

Each test prep book is "hard" in its own way as none of them really mirror the real PCAT. Some test books have excessively easy verbals while some are too hard. The one thing that all non-Harcourt practice exams do provide is to alert you to obvious areas you need to review.