Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

So far so good?

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by tothepark, Dec 23, 2008.

1. tothepark

10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Dear SDN members,

I am currently in my second year in college (/w Junior standing). I am a Pharmacology/Religious Studies double major and a Korean Studies minor and I have a 3.8 GPA.

Classwork this semester:
    I received an A in physics I, physics lab, and Orgo I.

ECs this semester:
    I am an EMT-B and I ride with my collegiate ambulance corps as well as a local fire department.
    I will begin research because it is required for my major.
    I have just finished working as a phtech at walgreens, and maybe getting a job at Adults and Children living with Developmental Disabilities (ACLDS).
    I also hope to get an EMT-CC certification in the near future.

I was wondering if I am on track to getting in top tier medical schools, if i continue with getting awesome grades, and getting leadership positions at more clubs. Also I would like to know if my major plays an important role in admissions, considering there are only 3 colleges that offer the pharmacology major to undergrads. Any suggestions or advice will be greatly appreciated. thank you.

2. mmmcdowe

mmmcdowe Duke of minimal vowels
    Moderator Physician Gold Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Your major won't hurt you, though they might wonder why you took it. It'd be an interview question. My question is this: were those the only classes you took this semester, or were there others. Your medical curriculars are great, though I would recommend doing some non-med community servic

3. Rzarecta

Rzarecta Premed 2: Electric Bugalo
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]