So lost about my path in life :(

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmBoy90

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here's my deal:

Since high school, I decided that I would pursue a career in pharmacy. I worked as a Pharmacy Tech for both Walgreens and CVS, and enjoyed the jobs for the most part. However, I was attending an expensive private 4-year school taking my pre-reqs for Pharmacy. I really struggled with the science and math courses. Eventually, I decided that I didn't want to be a Pharmacist, so I transferred to a local community college taking business courses.

I was good at the business classes, but it didn't necessarily interest me. I reconsidered going into the medical field, so I researched the PA profession and thought it was a great fit for me. I went to another local private 4-year school to pursue it (while working as a Pharmacy Tech), and again struggled with the science courses. I dropped out after the Fall 2012 semester, and haven't gone back to school since.

I am now 23 years old with more than $50K in student loan debt, and no degree. I have over 90 credits, all of my core classes are completed and I have some extra credits in the science classes that I took, as well as business courses I took at the community college and in high school.

As I got tired of working in the pharmacy, one of my pharmacy co-workers/friends was also leaving the job. He took over a local small business that he had been working at for 7 years, and hired me as his Sales/Marketing Rep. I enjoy the job, but I don't know if I can make a career here. The business he bought over that I now work for, is part of a franchise and there is certainly a lot of potential for this business to grow. But there is still a part of me that wants a degree, and wants to be in the medical field (mostly interested in being a PA still).