So which schools are known to reward GPA reinvention?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GoPenguinsGo

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Also, what counts as "reinvention"? I have a 3.3 undergrad GPA but since Im a grad student I'm taking 8 credit hours right now at the undergrad level to try to boost my undergrad sGPA to a 3.4 as well as establish a post-bacc GPA of a 4.0 (I have a strong A in all my classes thus far). But is there a benchmark number of credits needed? I imagine the more the merrier, but I just don't know.

And which schools value this reinvention?

Members don't see this ad.

"Trend" is almost as important as science gpa according to the survey of all MD admissions officers.
A lot of meh undergrad hours requires a lot of post bac hours...
Caveat: post bac counts, not grad school.

• Love
Reactions: 4 users
"Trend" is almost as important as science gpa according to the survey of all MD admissions officers.
Yup, that's why I registered for undergrad courses. Im taking Medical Genetics, Histology, and Immunology here at the undergrad level of my college of medicine in the city I live. I took the grad level course Intro to Molecular and Cellular Biology which was 4 credit hours and got an A- (Fall 2019). Would medical schools look down on me taking Cell Bio now at the undergrad level? I only play with the idea since they aren't counting grad grades.

Members don't see this ad :)
Pitt, maybe Dartmouth? I feel like every school, for the most part, values reinvention but those two come to my mind specifically when I think "reinvention"

as a fellow reinventor, i would try to avoid taking classes you have taken before if possible, unless they're prereqs and you need to get a passing grade. i dont think it looks as good as getting an A in a new topic.