Social Psychology or Counseling Psychology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychseeker

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!:)
First let me say finding this forum is possibly the best thing that has happened to me all week. I have been agonizing over decisions, so let me give you a little background.

I have a B.A. Communication degree.
I've been working in advertising for 4 years, have been promoted several times and am making good money at one of the top advertising agencies in the country in NYC. I have finally come to the realization that this cutthroat industry is not what I want to be a part of. I'm not fulfilled or passionate about what I do. Everything I have been reading in psychology has excited me and I just want to learn more.

So, I want to go back to school for psychology. I'm willing to go all the way for my PHD because I have a desire to be educated to the fullest, be able to demand the best money, and also know that when I'm helping people, they can trust that my education is providing them the best advice/counsel/knowledge.

Getting to point...

I have come to an issue that I must resolve before I can go any further in devising a plan for going back to school. I can't decide whether I want to go for counseling psychology or social psychology.

Counseling Psychology
Pros: I have a desire to help people in my own practice as a psychologist. I believe I can help people get back on track in their lives who are facing tough times but don't necessarily suffer from any mental disorders.