Social worker needs advice. Please help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MSW2DO

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Thanks for taking the time to read this posting. My name is Peter, and I am a master's level social worker. I am 25 years old, and I compoleted grad school this past May. I have both a bachelor's degree and a master's degree in social work. As an undergrad, I maintained a 4.0 GPA for my first two years. I originally began my college career as a biology major, so I have completed 8 semester hours in bio, 4 semester hours of gen chem, and 4 semester hourse of physics. My science GPA is a 4.0. During my junior year, my grades took a turn for the worse following a family tragedy (I actually failed an economics course). Although I brought my grades back up, I only graduated with an overall GPA of 3.2. I completed my master's program with a 3.8.

I am hell bent on becoming an osteopathic physician, but I am concerned that admissions committees will not be impressed with my undergrad GPA, and I'm worried that being a social worker will place me at a disadvantage relative to other applicants who majored in science.

Do I even have a shot at getting into med school? I would be particularly interested in hearing from current medical students who were non-science majors as undergrads.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Peter. I think that you actually sound like a great applicant. Your grades are competitive, especially the high science GPA. Since you did so well on your undergrad sciences, I think you have a good shot at getting good MCAT scores, and these could make up for an average GPA.