Some advice and opinions about my chances please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ilovefoo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'd love to get everyone's advice/opinion about my application as I'm about ready to give up on this journey.

I'm a non-traditional student...I graduated about 10 years ago with my undergrad degree in biochemistry. My undergrad GPA was ~2.8 (low GPA was due to many financial/family issues), I took the MCAT last year and got a 31. I've been working the last 10 years and have a successful career in the internet search industry. That said - I don't have much free time as my job is very demanding but I do volunteer every week at a local hospital.

So, I applied last year and was rejected from every single school. :( I applied to some post-bac programs and was also rejected.

I'm considering re-taking the MCAT (I think I can get a higher score) and will continue my volunteer work. Beyond that, I won't have the time or opportunity to do much else.

Do you think I should even take the MCAT again? Should I re-apply? Or just give up now with minimal losses? Do you think medical schools will give me a second chance? I know the GPA is low but will they look at my hopefully higher MCAT and see that as evidence that I can excel now that my circumstances are better/different?

If you think some schools will consider my application, let me know what schools you think they are.

Anyway, thank you to everyone in advance for your honest advice/opinions.

Members don't see this ad.

You might want to check out/post on the non-traditional forum to find others that have been in similar situations, if you haven't already. There is a thread for "success stories" with some good advice.