1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

some advice?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Asclepius, May 2, 2002.

1. Asclepius

Asclepius 1K Member
    10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I've been a member of this network for just a few weeks, but I've realized quickly that this is generally intelligent and well-informed group. I graduated from an excellent university 3 years ago with a degree in the humanities and a 3.4 gpa. Since then I've worked as a church youth director and completed my prerequisites at the local state university (not reknown at all) and earned a 4.0 in the sciences, having taken only the prereqs. and genetics.
    My biology professor, a well-known cyanobacteriologist asked me to do a master's degree in his lab. I'm actually the only student he's allowed, much less invited, to work with him in several years. He, for various legitimate reasons, has not done much research on cyanobacteria in a few years. He says he has lots of interesting projects ready to go. I've been accepted to the program, and could begin graduate work this summer...I could also opt to work in the lab of one of the other professors, dealing more with medically-related issues. This would also give me the opportunity to work, perhaps, at St. Jude's research hospital, one of the best research hospitals in the country.
    Anyway, I am contacting the admissions departments of the various admissions depts. of the schools I'm applying to, but I'd also like you opinion, fellow SDNers. Would you prefer to work with a professor that has shown special interest in you, though it may be a less glamorous project...and of less interest and relevance to you as a med. applicant, or would you rather work in an equally or more prestigious lab dealing with your interests?