Some pre-med questions...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Apparition

1K Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to SDN and I have a few questions. I have just completed my sophomore year of college and have not yet taken any of the pre-med reqs. I plan to take g-chem next year, physics next summer, and o-chem my senior year. This means that I'll have to take MCAT towards the end of my senior year.

Is there a chance I can enroll into med school the year I graduate or will I definitely have to take a year off?

If I take a pre-med req at another school, will that grade count into my sci GPA? (In my school, only p/f transfers, not the actual grade.)

I have a high school AP Bio Credit that's been transferred. Do most schools accept this? If not, I'll have to take bio in my senior year as well.

I'm pretty clueless about this whole process, thanks for any input! :D

Members don't see this ad.

Hello App.,

Lots of questions you have. Try searching some of the topics and read the threads. Hope this helps a little.

ANY class you take will count toward your GPA, unless the class itself is pass/fail. As far as I know, none of the "pre-med" courses are such. You will send a transcript from every school you have attended, regardless of the class or grade.

It is impossible to take the MCAT in April and begin medical school in August. The app. process will take a full year (or close to it). If all goes as planned, its like this: MCAT, application, interviews, wait... :rolleyes: wait... :rolleyes: wait... :rolleyes: wait for acceptance. Then you start. :clap: :clap: :clap:

For this reason, most traditional students complete the requirements for the MCAT their junior year.

Good luck, study hard! :wink:

Welcome to SDN :D I'll try to answer you questions.