Apr 3, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I'm finishing up my Sophomore year at Hofstra University (Long Island). My science GPA is 3.90, overall is 3.92.

I have or am finishing up all of my pre-requisites, with the exception of the second semester of physics, which I will do this summer at University of Virginia. I am planning on taking the MCAT in August. The reason for the acceleration is that I am doing a study abroad trip to London, where I will be taking two courses and doing a medical internship, either in Pharmaceuticals or something in chemistry.

My major is Biochemistry; my minor is Ancient Greek, and I do French Horn on the side in the University Band, random ensembles and performances, and private lessons.

I have taken two AMCAS practice tests. The first one, number 3, I took in December and got a 30 (9 PS, 9 BS, 12 V) with one semester of organic, no physics. I just took number 10 and got a 31 (8 PS, 10 BS, 13 V), with half a semester of physics 1 and organic nearly completed, though there seemed to be a lot of physics on it that I haven't yet covered. I know the PS is low, but I'm getting the Berkeley Review Physics books and I have TPR Hyperlearning for Biology, with which I am very pleased. My goal is to get a 35 (11 PS, 11 BS, 13 V), and I'm not concerned about the writing.

My volunteering is a little thin, but I've done some shadowing and will do more, and have done some volunteering at a free clinic. I have a very good mentor who is guiding me through the process, whose alma mater is Emory. My hope is that the research in London will be the main attraction.

Here are my top schools, in vague order:

Mayo
Emory
Hopkins
Washington University (St Louis)
Baylor
University of Virginia
Stony Brook
Hofstra
EVMS

I will be back in the States by Christmas 2010, and want to know how soon I can apply to the medical schools. Obviously, "as soon as I can", but specifics would be appreciated.

Any advice or comments are welcome.