sophomore year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ali428

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a sophomore at Rutgers University busily trying to prepare for applying to med school. I know it's kind of early still, but I want to be the best prepared that I can be! Does anyone have any tips on what I can do now to start planning for acceptance to med school? What is helpful for studying for the MCATs? If anyone else is in the same sophomore boat as I am, I'd love to hear from you too! Thanks
smile.gif

Members don't see this ad.

Obviously, the most important thing right now is to maximize your gpa, especially in the sciences. In addition, if you haven't already done so, it's a good time to start getting to know a few of your professors better so that you can get strong letters of rec. I'm assuming that at a school like Rutgers, a lot of the required pre-med courses are quite large, so this point is especially important.
Outside of academics, make sure you have some experience in a health care setting. It doesn't really matter where, as long as you get some exposure to the field. Many also recommend getting involved in a research project. I see this more as an issue of personal choice, although if you want to get accepted to the most competitive programs, it probably would fall under the "Required" category. It's also a good way to get one of those letters I mentioned before.
As for preparing for the MCAT, I'll defer to others, since my preparation for that test is hardly a model for others to follow.

Get a summer job next year in Patient Care. Full-time, hands on Patient care, if possible. This will be a HUGE boost to your resume, and an amazing and educational experience!

Members don't see this ad :)