Sorry to bother you all, but I could use a little advice and direction.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

situational

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I was wondering if anyone who was in a similar situation as I am in now.

I graduated last year in June with a B.S in neuroscience and physiology with a 3.02 GPA overall. I understand I don't have the best grades, but at the time, I really didn't have the motivation to keep up with my coursework because I felt I was pushed into my major by my parents in an attempt for me to go to medical school, so much in fact, that I wound up taking the MCAT as well, and scoring only a 30.

A 3.02 GPA and a MCAT score of 30 isn't great at all. I'm going to be realistic here and say that I probably won't survive the rigors of medical school, let alone the application process.

However, I found a small spark in the past year that rekindled my interests in the field of science. I volunteer to teach English at small center every week. It's the only thing I look forward to, since I have not found a job yet. My several students, when I first arrived, could barely speak English at all. In fact, they have had no formal school education whatsoever when growing up - no abilities to read nor write. When I go to volunteer these days, it really makes me happy that they can read simple stories, write down what I say, and converse in broken English with me. I enjoy seeing my efforts show in the progress of others, which is why I have decided to pursue a career in physical therapy; I can utilize what I learned in my studies as well as coach and improve others on a more personal level than I would if I were, for example, a surgeon. I feel it would be a very fulfilling career for me down the road.