1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

Speaking of languages & med schools... how about Arabic?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by unsung, Apr 16, 2007.

1. unsung

10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I am not Middle Eastern. But, I have always had an interest in Arabic culture, so I took Arabic in college and spent some time in the Middle East studying Arabic. I am still studying Arabic and hope to keep it up until I am decently fluent. It's one of my main EC activities.

Is this something that will be remotely useful to me during the application process to medical school?

Since I HAVE invested a fair amount of time and energy into the endeavor of learning this language, I figure I'll probably end up addressing my interest in one way or another. (It's purely an EC interest though, as my undergrad/grad work was in bio & psych, respectively.) Just wondering whether there's a way I could do this to make it more relevant to medical school?

(Way WAY into the future, I would love to work in the Middle East with an organization such as Doctors without Borders... but I'm not sure whether this desire is relevant to getting admitted to medical school in the first place.)
    -------------------

Edit: forgot to mention one thing I'm a tad concerned about. Some folks have advised me NOT to mention the Arabic interest at all, due to present suspicion towards Muslims/Arabs in general.

On one hand, my immediate reaction is like- oh come on, most adcoms probably won't be part of that prejudiced demographic, right? Otoh, I wonder if there may be some truth to the advice I've been given. Just recently, two Asian men were kicked off of a UK flight for speaking in Arabic to each other, because PASSENGERS refused to board the plane with them! The men ended up boarding a later flight without problems.

Thoughts?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.