Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Speaking of non-traditional premeddies...

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by Biomedical Eng./Premed, Aug 12, 2015.

1. Biomedical Eng./Premed

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Hey.

I am a college freshman that dreams of being a doctor, I do not know how easy it will be since I intend to get a medical degree whilst having an engineering bachelor degree. At my university, however, they do not offer all of the premedical prerequisites. So I do not know what to do or how to cover them. I am also quite concerned that I will not be allowed to apply to medical school without the completion of these courses.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Eccesignum

Eccesignum I Narcanned Your Honor Student
    Gold Donor Classifieds Approved 5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Get whatever degree you want now.

Once you've graduated, find another university that does offer your missing pre-reqs. Take them. It might take a little bit, so work and volunteer in the meantime. Then apply to medical school.

4. DrMidlife

DrMidlife has an opinion
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Public service announcement.
    1. There is never a good reason to use the word "whilst" outside the context of a Charles Dickens impersonation.
    2. Unless there is a mortgage, marriage, midlife crisis or menial rent-paying job in the story, a college freshman is a traditional premed, regardless of major.

5. Biomedical Eng./Premed

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I was thinking more of "apply for online courses" . Not seeking a degree or anything, just covering the credits. Or is that not okay for the med school application?

6. Biomedical Eng./Premed

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical