Specialities where 30-40 hours is possible, happy with 80-120K per year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

testversion305

Chiquito
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all

I'm a third year medical student, I've got the grades and letters to be competitive in the fields I am interested in (Derm, Peds and Ortho) but I'm feeling pretty burnt out

I have a lot of hobbies I would like to pursue, I don't really care about salary but don't want to work more then 40hours per week after residency

My ideal job would be 30hrs/week with a salary of at least 80K
I prefer treatable conditions and do prefer some patient contact in my life

I do like helping people but I want time to grow as a person outside of medicine and be there for my family when I'm at that stage

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

Almost all fields have something where you can work 30 hrs a week for 80K+ so I suggest you do the whatever you can finish the quickest. Emergency Medicine, Hospitalist, or Family Medicine.

Reactions: 2 users
I know two physicians who work part time, one is EM and one is IM hospitalist.

Psych isn't strictly part time but the hours are really chill.

I'm guessing you could pull it off in anesthesia too, but I'm not sure.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Outpatient IM at a VA...super chill and no weekends. Plus, you get all federal holidays off.

Reactions: 1 users
If you're fine with barely clearing 6 figures, which you can do in any field part time (even peds), the question becomes what fields offer the best lifestyle.

Stick to outpatient areas. Psych, FM, IM, PM&R, etc can all have 40 hr/wk schedules. IMO best opportunities are psych or PM&R or opening a derm clinic and only working 3-4 days/wk. Part-time EM would also pull in 100k easily with plenty of downtime, you'd likely have to work the shifts no one else wants to though.