sports medicine issue

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hopkins2010

Membership Revoked
Removed
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am curious about a medical issue involving my ankle. First off, I am not intending to use the info given out here as official medical advice, I am just curious on your opinions.

OK, well I have been playing soccer since I was about 6 years old (I am 23 now). Since that time, I have sprained both ankles multiple times while playing (sprained each ankle twice as far as I can remember).

Since the last sprain, which occurred about 1 year ago, the bones in my ankle pop continuously, fairly loudly. It doesnt really hurt, but it can feel uncomfortable at times. Even when I'm sleeping at night and there is no pressure on them, it seems like they feel uncomfortable. If I'm conscious enough, I flex and rotate my ankles about once every 20 minutes it seems.

Its particularly obnoxious when climbing stairs. It sounds like I'm walking on those plastic styrofoam bubbles used in packing material. As stated before, there is no real pain, just feels a little out of whack.

Since this is more of a nuisance than a real medical problem, I wasnt going to bother going through the hassle of trying to get an orthopedic consult through my HMO.

Do you think it would get worse over time or just remain as it is now for the rest of my life?

Is there any simple way to help the situation without using prescription drugs or surgery?

Assuming that I were to sprain my ankle again at some point, is there any way it could cause long term irreparable damage (i.e. more serious than just a sprain or even ankle break)?

Members don't see this ad.