Sports medicine vs Orthopedic Surgeon

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bbruins99

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have been interested in the two fields ever since I started playing sports. Well, more specifically when I tore my ACL and basically everything in my shoulder. I love looking at the MRIs trying to figure out what is wrong and reading up on different cases. The only thing that deters me is that I am really not into surgery. I could watch it no problem, but performing any surgeries would be a no go for me. Is sports medicine basically orthopedics without surgery? Is there a field that is all orthopedics without any sort of surgery?

Members don't see this ad.

the PM&R comment is a great one. very interesting field with a lot of the work concentrated in non-op spine treatments. not a clairvoyant, but i don't think its unreasonable to imagine that field becoming more popular as more equivocal outcomes with spine procedures vs. non-op treatment roll out.

if you're not interested in performing surgery at all, you could certainly do the primary care sports med route. lots of ultrasound work, biologics, injections -- that type of thing. i believe most fellowships will accept EM, IM, family med, and peds residency prior to the fellowship. don't quote me on it, though.

Members don't see this ad :)
the PM&R comment is a great one. very interesting field with a lot of the work concentrated in non-op spine treatments. not a clairvoyant, but i don't think its unreasonable to imagine that field becoming more popular as more equivocal outcomes with spine procedures vs. non-op treatment roll out.