Liquidice07

5+ Year Member
Feb 21, 2010
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
Hey, don't know if this is the right area but here goes:
I am an EMT and getting my undergrad right now and considering med school.
Is there a speciality that deals with helping physical disabled people to gain movement and/or be able to function normally?
I looked into Physical Therapy and OT but the PT I have observed is mainly doing therapeutic "massages" on the patients and then just giving them a set of exercises to do. I want something more in depth.

Also am thinking of sports medicine.
What kind of track does that look like to become the physician for a sports team or university?

Thanks guys

Kid A

7+ Year Member
Jun 19, 2009
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Seems like physical medicine and rehabilitation is the specialty you are looking for.

Aug 6, 2009
Status
Medical Student
Look into Physical Medicine and Rehab a 4 year residency.

For sports medicine, one completes a residency in family medicine (most of the time) and then completes an additional 1-2 sports medicine program.

AH3

Mar 3, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I'm also interested in sports medicine. From what I've found, you just go through med school and do a residency in orthopedics (for surgery) or family medicine (for non-surgery). Then you can do a fellowship somewhere in sports medicine. As far as getting a job, I'd suggest trying to work with any teams you can and look for internships with pro or college teams right now to get a feel for it. A lot of the big jobs (NFL, NBA, etc.) seem like you would probably have to have some connection and a little luck to get in there down the road.

Phillyborn

illadelphia
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jun 20, 2006
Status
Resident [Any Field]
You can also specialize in Sports Medicine after doing a residency in PM&R or Orthopedic Surgery.