SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Standing Out for MED SCHOOLS?? Advice please!!

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by DocKwi, Mar 28, 2001.

1. DocKwi

DocKwi Member 10+ Year Member

Nov 4, 2000
    North Carolina
    Everyone,
    Ok so here is the deal!! Given the standards for medical schools it seems that from the past to know its best to do something that STANDS OUT!! Everyone seems to volunteer, shadow, be apart of clubs, do research..the list goes on and on. So here is what I need some advice on...
    I'm currently a Sophomore in College.
    Currently: Total GPA:3.801
    Major GPA: 3.879
    Tons of Honors
    Tons of Shadowing/Volunteering
    Time spent with Alzheimer Pat.
    Time spent with Blind Children
    President of Premed/Predent Club

The list can go on and on...but doesn't the typical medical student sort of seem like this. I have the chance to go to NAMBIA, AFRICA during the summer for an organization and work with a Physician on a MEDICAL MISSION!! Before I go, I've got to collect the $3500 it will cost for the trip...there are several fundraising oportunities!!

I'm realy interested!! IF I GO FOR AN ENTIRE SUMMER..HOW MUCH OF A PLUS WILL IT BE FOR MEDICAL SCHOOLS?? Do they take this type of situation as JUST ANOTHER BONUS...or something more?? I would love to hear anyone and everyone's comments!! Thank you all for you time!!
    Thanks, K

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Firebird

Firebird 1K Member 10+ Year Member

Mar 15, 2001
    I'm just a pre-meddie myself, but that sounds like a real opportunity to distinguish yourself. If you don't mind being away that long.

By the way, if you're a freshman, don't go--I would appreciate having less to compete with three years from now, haha!

4. Medigirl

Medigirl Member 10+ Year Member

Feb 13, 2001
    San Antonio, TX