Standing Out for MED SCHOOLS?? Advice please!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DocKwi

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Everyone,
Ok so here is the deal!! Given the standards for medical schools it seems that from the past to know its best to do something that STANDS OUT!! Everyone seems to volunteer, shadow, be apart of clubs, do research..the list goes on and on. So here is what I need some advice on...
I'm currently a Sophomore in College.
Currently: Total GPA:3.801
Major GPA: 3.879
Tons of Honors
Tons of Shadowing/Volunteering
Time spent with Alzheimer Pat.
Time spent with Blind Children
President of Premed/Predent Club

The list can go on and on...but doesn't the typical medical student sort of seem like this. I have the chance to go to NAMBIA, AFRICA during the summer for an organization and work with a Physician on a MEDICAL MISSION!! Before I go, I've got to collect the $3500 it will cost for the trip...there are several fundraising oportunities!!

I'm realy interested!! IF I GO FOR AN ENTIRE SUMMER..HOW MUCH OF A PLUS WILL IT BE FOR MEDICAL SCHOOLS?? Do they take this type of situation as JUST ANOTHER BONUS...or something more?? I would love to hear anyone and everyone's comments!! Thank you all for you time!!
Thanks, K

Members don't see this ad.

Have you considered a semester abroad? It is a wonderful experience that will really change your life. And it is something that very few premeds actually fit into their undergrad years. Check out the thread in the pre-allo forum!

Godd Luck, Mango
MS-1