Oct 18, 2018
Hey y'all,

So, as my title states, I'm 28. I have a BA in Education, and I am considering medical school. For years, I had wanted to get my masters and to become an NP. I wanted to be a nurse before I became a teacher, and hey, guess what, I hated teaching in the public school system.

The more I think about it, though, the more I realize that I want to be the one to take away the pain, to solve the puzzle of why patient is feeling the way they are, to put the pieces back together. I know it sounds cheesey, but it's my truth.

When I went through community college 8-10 years ago, I jacked around and had not so great grades. I think I was a C-average. I graduated my BA program with a 3.6, though.

Because it has been so long, however, since I have taken any sort of science course, those units won't transfer from my school. So I get to retake them, which is a blessing, I suppose!

Will submitting new, current grades be problematic should I pursue this path? Should I pursue another bachelors degree? Do I need to take just the science and math pre-reqs? My degree didn't require anything a health degree would.

Medic741

2+ Year Member
Jan 18, 2017
Status
  1. Medical Student
Have you completed any prereqs? Prereqs are a ****. They’ll also shed some light on whether this path is something you’re really interested in. As a reality check, the path you’re interested in requires an enormous amount of sacrifice and hard work even before medical school. Any shadowing or healthcare experience?

Last edited:
Reactions: libertyyne

el_duderino

Some men play tennis, I erode the human soul
7+ Year Member
Jan 26, 2012
Status
  1. Resident [Any Field]