Starting research as an MS2...bad idea?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DAKAZA

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have absolutely no research experience as an undergrad or med student. I almost did something during the summer after 1st year but decided against it to rest. Anyway, I've been interested in orthopedic surgery lately and I'm getting the impression that I really need to become involved with some form of research.

So, I talked with one of my small group leaders who happens to be a clinical research director for an orthopaedic associates group. She told me that she can probably hook me up with some type of project if I attend one of their meetings in the next couple weeks.

I'm pretty excited but also worried about the time commitment. My coursework alone is extremely tough and I'm studying constantly, but not doing as well as I'd like. Also, I'm completely ignorant about research in general so I don't know what type of project would be best or anything. I also have no idea how many hours/week would be a reasonable amount to commit to. Any advice/feedback at all would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

OP, research is important for competitive surgical subspecialties like ortho, but so is doing well in school, particularly scoring high on Step 1. We are now reaching November, and depending on when second year ends at your school, you are going to have to start thinking about preparing for Step 1 pretty soon. Because of Step 1, the second semester of second year is not a great time for anyone to start a new research project. But considering that you are already having trouble doing as well as you'd like to in school, I doubly recommend that you not take on this new project that will take further time away from your studies.