Starting Residency --- 457/401k/IRA investment

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrDudeMD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm going to be starting my first paying job in Internal Medicine this July. With that said, I have tons of forms to fill out. Sure enough, the retirement account/investment stuff is giving me a hard time. I have zero experience. I tried to do some background reading and googling, but it's still too much. I would love some advice on what to do.

My employer is a city entity/corporation. They have the following retirement investment options for me ---

457 (pretax or Roth), 401k (pretax or Roth), IRAs (pretax or Roth).

My plan is to max out my contributions to all of those investment options on the Roth basis. Maxing out is the smart thing to do, but is it the best thing to do? Forget med school loans (I'm only on the books for $30k luckily) for a moment.

(1) Is it feasible to live frugally/humanely after maxing out my contributions?

(2) Is the $17k annual limit pertaining to the individual types of account or the aggregate?

(3) How does one calculate the deferral percentage for these accounts? On the form, it states a minimum of 1% up to a max of 50%. Is this number generally referring to the paycheck or your annual salary?

Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all,

I'm going to be starting my first paying job in Internal Medicine this July. With that said, I have tons of forms to fill out. Sure enough, the retirement account/investment stuff is giving me a hard time. I have zero experience. I tried to do some background reading and googling, but it's still too much. I would love some advice on what to do.

My employer is a city entity/corporation. They have the following retirement investment options for me ---

457 (pretax or Roth), 401k (pretax or Roth), IRAs (pretax or Roth).